Redding, may seem like a small town but it has a rich history. Sure Lock & Key Locksmith Co. also has a rich history for servicing the city of Redding.
Native American trails crossed through portions of the area, including the Berkshire Path running north-south. At the time colonials began receiving grants for land within the boundaries of present-day Redding.
In 1668 Fairfield purchased another tract of land then called Northfield, which comprised land that is now part of Redding.
Fairfield authorities divided the newly available land into parcels dubbed “long lots” at the time for settlement purposes. North-south measured no more than a third of a mile wide but extended east-west as long as 15 miles. Immediately north of the long lots was a similar-sized parcel of land known as The Oblong.
There are varying accounts as to the first colonial landholder in the Redding area. Multiple citations suggest a Fairfield man named Richard Osborn obtained land there in 1671, while differing on how many acres he secured. Nathan Gold, a Fairfield man who would serve as deputy governor of Connecticut from 1708 to 1723, received a land grant for 800 acres in 1681.
When Redding was formed, the original name of the town was Reading, after the town in Berkshire, England according to Fairfield County and state records from the time. Probably more accurately, however, town history attributes the name to John Read, an early major landholder. He was a Congregationalist preacher who converted to Anglicanism as well as prominent lawyer in Boston.
Read helped in getting Redding recognized as a parish in 1729 demarcating the boundaries of the town. In 1767, soon after incorporation, the name was changed to its current spelling of Redding to better reflect its pronunciation.
In 1809, Congress granted Redding its first U.S. Post Office, which made official in 1844 the spelling of the town’s name.
Sound and the Hudson River Valley. Some of the men were veterans of the winter encampment at Valley Forge, Pennsylvania the previous winter. Soldiers at the Redding camp endured supply shortages, cold temperatures and significant snow, with some historians dubbing the encampment “Connecticut’s Valley Forge.”
Construction began in 1850 on the Danbury and Norwalk Railroad, which linked those two cities following a 23-mile route along the Norwalk River valley that passed through Redding. Regular steam-engine service commenced March 1, 1852; which would include stations in the West Redding, Topstone and Georgetown sections of Redding.
Sure Lock & Key understands how the present is built through the past. We also have a history of building our business throughout Conn.
We are four Brothers who came together, as a hard-working dedicated group to gain the highest level of expertise in the field of locksmithing. Our history of reliable professional service can be found in our reviews. We are available for all your Locksmith and Security needs, 24 hours a day, throughout the year.